top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKa'la Drayton

Humbled

Updated: Mar 8, 2020

I posted this to my Facebook wall after taking time after work to reflect. Being here in Ghana and working in their hospital is such a privilege and honor that I will always remember.

“Wow. This is a little rant but you need to read it. Today I just realized we complain about the smallest things in regard to our healthcare. Such as waiting hours to be seen, sitTing in the hallways because we’re full and the food we serve. But yet I’m standing in an ICU of only 5 beds for the region with limited access to oxygen tanks. People here literally have to pay before they receive any interventions/treatments/transfers and if they can’t pay for it, they basically have to sit there and die. There are very few individual rooms (2 on OB), no isolation for people with major illness (TB, meningitis, malaria, I can continue but hopefully you get the drift). So again, I do it a lot but after just working for 4 days my perspective and outlook has been humbled. Though I know we’re in a developed country and are privileged in a way but let’s just be mindful about our attitude towards our “state of art” care because people are going without.

Be blessed.”


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page